Free guest access

Send a comment to editor

IIHF confirms Canada will play in Riga group at next year's Ice Hockey WC
Your name:
Security Code:
To refresh the security code, click on it
Enter the code here:

    IIHF confirms Canada will play in Riga group at next year's Ice Hockey WC

    RIGA, May 20 (LETA) - At a conference call the International Ice Hockey Federation's (IIHF) Council has approved the groups for the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. 

    The tournament will start in May 2021 and will be co-hosted by Minsk and Riga under the slogan - Passion. No borders.

    Latvia will be host to one of the group stages and two quarter-final games. Group B will also include Canada, Finland, the United States, Germany, Norway, Italy and Kazakhstan.

    Meanwhile, Group A, which will be played in Minsk, will be made up of hosts Belarus, Russia, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, Slovakia, Denmark and Great Britain. Minsk will host two quarter-final games, both semi-finals and the medal games. 

    According to the IIHF rankings, Russia was supposed to play in the Riga group and Canada in the Minsk group next year, but the two countries were switched because of hosting rights.

    It is also believed that the tournament itself will begin two weeks later than previously scheduled - on May 21, instead of May 7, but this is yet to be confirmed.

    • Published: 20.05.2020 11:25
    • LETA
    • © The given news may not be republished in any way or amount, or otherwise used by the mass media or Internet websites, without written permission of LETA. If this provision is not observed, the matter will be taken to court pursuant to the laws and regulations of the Republic of Latvia.
    • All
    • News
    • Press Releases
    • Photo



    LETA projects